Scholarly Comments on Academic Economics

About EJW

Econ Journal Watch welcomes submissions of Comments on articles that appear in economics journals. Published since 2004, as of 2019 EJW appears twice yearly, in March and September. EJW also welcomes essays, reflections, and investigations that speak to the nature and character of economics research and professional economists. EJW watches the journals for inappropriate assumptions, weak chains of argument, phony claims of relevance, omissions of pertinent truths, and irreplicability—EJW welcomes replication studies. EJW is an outlet for pointed, constructive criticism of professional economics. Articles appearing in EJW frequently apply theories of failure—market, government, organizational, intellectual, moral—to the practices and institutions of economists. An editorial conversation about publishing in EJW is found here.

EJW also welcomes submissions beyond Econ, from social sciences and history, as explained here.

Econ Journal Watch has been selected for coverage in the following indices and databases:

  • Clarivate Analytics’ Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)/Web of Science and Current Contents/Social & Behavioral Sciences
  • American Economic Association’s EconLit and Journal of Economic Literature
  • EBSCO Host – Business Source Complete, Business Source Corporate Plus
  • ProQuest ABI/INFORM Complete™
  • Directory of Open Access Journals
  • Research Papers in Economics (RePEc)
  • Elsevier Scopus
  • Cabell’s Directory of Publishing Opportunities
  • Gale/Cengage Learning

EJW legally exists within the Fraser Institute.

ISSN: 1933-527X

Managing Editor

Jason Briggeman
Austin Community College

Math Reader

Warren C. Gibson, P.E.
Ph.D., Engineering

Editorial Advisor

Jane Shaw Stroup
James G. Martin Center for Academic Renewal

Site Design and Operations

John Stephens

EJW Advisory Council

  • Terry L. Anderson, PERC; Hoover Inst.
  • Charles W. Baird, Cal. St. Univ., East Bay
  • Peter J. Boettke, George Mason Univ.
  • Donald J. Boudreaux, George Mason Univ.
  • Matthew Brown, Univ. Illinois, Springfield
  • David Colander, Middlebury Coll.
  • Tyler Cowen, George Mason Univ.
  • Angus Deaton, Princeton Univ.
  • Thomas DiLorenzo, Loyola U. Maryland
  • Richard Ebeling, The Citadel
  • Bruno S. Frey, Univ. Basel, Ch.
  • Pierre Garello, Aix-Marseille Univ., Fr.
  • Peter Gordon, Univ. So. California
  • James D. Gwartney, Florida St. Univ.
  • David Haddock, Northwestern Univ.
  • Steve H. Hanke, Johns Hopkins Univ.
  • David R. Henderson, Naval Postgr. Sch.
  • Robert Higgs, The Independent Review
  • Randall G. Holcombe, Florida St. Univ.
  • Kevin Hoover, Duke University
  • Israel Kirzner, New York Univ.
  • Timur Kuran, Duke University
  • Dwight Lee, So. Methodist Univ.
  • Harry Markowitz, U. California, San Diego
  • Deirdre N. McCloskey, Univ. Illinois, Chicago
  • Roger Meiners, Univ. Texas, Arlington
  • Philip Mirowski, Univ. Notre Dame
  • Adrian Moore, Reason Fdn.
  • Sam Peltzman, Univ. Chicago
  • Martin Ricketts, Univ. Buckingham, UK
  • Mario Rizzo, New York Univ.
  • Colin Robinson, Univ. Surrey, UK
  • Mauricio Rojas, EPIC, Madrid, Es.
  • Paul H. Rubin, Emory Univ.
  • Thomas Saving, Texas A&M Univ.
  • William Shughart, Utah St. Univ.
  • Vernon Smith, Chapman Univ.
  • Alex Tabarrok, George Mason Univ.
  • Nicolaus Tideman, Virginia Tech
  • Karen Vaughn, George Mason Univ.
  • Richard Vedder, Ohio Univ.
  • Richard E. Wagner, George Mason Univ.
  • Bruce Yandle, Clemson Univ.
  • Stephen Ziliak, Roosevelt Univ.

   Advisory Council
   In Memoriam

  • Thomas Borcherding, Claremont Grad. Univ.
  • James M. Buchanan, George Mason Univ.
  • Ronald Coase, Univ. Chicago
  • Mason Gaffney, U. California, Riverside
  • Hal Hochman, Lafayette Coll.
  • Deepak Lal, U. California, Los Angeles
  • Thomas Mayer, Univ. Calif., Davis
  • Fred McChesney, Univ. Miami
  • Robert Mundell, Columbia University
  • Robert H. Nelson, Univ. Maryland
  • Douglass North, Washington Univ.
  • Thomas Schelling, Univ. Maryland
  • Richard L. Stroup, No. Carolina St. Univ.
  • Richard H. Timberlake, Univ. Georgia
  • Gordon Tullock, George Mason Univ.
  • Walter Williams, George Mason Univ.
  • Oliver Williamson, U. California, Berkeley
  • Leland Yeager, Auburn Univ.

Planning meeting for the formation of EJW, St. Louis, Missouri, 2003. Standing: Randall Holcombe, Donald Boudreaux, George Selgin, Daniel Klein, Matthew Brown. Seated: Bruce Benson, Jane Shaw, Deirdre McCloskey, Lawrence H. White, Fred Foldvary.